About Us


Sino-American Pharmaceutical Professionals Association (SAPA) is a major US not-for-profit organization for pharmaceutical professionals with Chinese-heritage. Founded in 1993 and headquartered in the NJ/NY/CT tri-state area, SAPA grew rapidly and has become one of the most active and well-recognized Chinese-heritage enduring professional organizations in the United States. SAPA is an independent, not-for-profit organization with nearly 4000 members in USA, Mainland China, Hong Kong, Taiwan and Japan united by a commitment to promoting pharmaceutical science and technology and their essential roles in fostering member's career development.

SAPA's New England Chapter, SAPA-NE, aims to promote pharmaceutical exchanges and cooperation in both industry and academia between China and the USA and to assist career opportunities and development for our members in New England area. SAPA-NE currently has more than 900 members, most have advanced degrees. SAPA publishes "SAPA Newsletter", organizes the annual conferences, and seminars/symposia on specific topics of scientific, technological, and professional development, hosts or co-hosts pharmaceutical forum in US and China.


SAPA NE 2018-2019 Leadership Team

President: Dr. Jun Johnny Yang (Ribon Therapeutics)

President-Elect: Dr. Qiying Hu (Decibel Therapeutics)

Immediate Past President: Larry Cai (Qilu Pharmaceuticals)

Secretary General: Dr. Mangeng Cheng (Merck)

Executive Committee Members:

Dr. Jia Guo (Merck)
Jun Zhao, MS (Merck)
Dr. Kejie Li (Biogen)
Dr. Lin Lin (Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and Harvard Medical School)
Dr. Tianxiao Sun (Unum Therapeutics)
Yunwei Lin, MS (Takeda)
Dr. Bing Ma (Sanofi)
Dr. Dapeng Chen (Merck)
Dr. Haishan Li (Perkin Elmer)
Dr. Haiying Liu (Biogen)
Dr. Hongwei Zhang (MCPHS University)
Dr. Kehao Zhao (Luye)
Dr. Lucy Xu (WuXi)
Dr. Pei Ma (Foundation)
Dr. Xiaoyu Tian (VCAN Bio)
Dr. Xingfeng Bao (Eisai)
Dr. James Cao (Sanofi)
Dr. Jing Tong (BMS)
Dr. Yi Ian Liu (Fuxing)
Dr. Dongli Chen (Qinghai Ren Yi Pharmaceuticals)
Dr. Lan Yang (Shire)
Dr. Wenlai Zhou (Jacobio Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd)


SAPA-NE Distinguished Speakers and Advisories

Dr. Jack W. Szostak Professor, Harvard Medical School and Alexander Rich Distinguished Investigator at Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston. Nobel Prize laureate 2009 for Physiology or Medicine.
Dr. Craig C. Mello Professor , University of Massachusetts Medical School. Nobel Prize laureate 2006 for Physiology or Medicine.
Dr. JC Gutierrez-Ramos Senior Vice President, Pfizer Global BioTherapeutic Research and Development.
Dr. Deborah Dunsire CEO, Millennium: The Takeda Oncology Company.
Dr. Tomas Mustelin VP, Inflammation Therapeutic Area Head, Washington Site Head, Amgen
Dr. Ruppert Vessey Vice President and Site Head, Merck Research Lab Boston.
Dr. Evan Loh Senior Vice President, BTX Strategic Development, Pfizer.
Dr. Bill Ciambrone SVP, Technical Operations, Shire Human Genetic Therapies, Inc.
Dr. Li Chen Founder and CEO, Hua Medicine, Shanghai, China
Dr. Zhijian Lu Head, Biologics discovery, Novartis Shanghai China
Dr. Xin Xu Director of MedImmune-AstroZeneca
Dr. Guangping Gao Professor of University of Massachusetts Medical School
Dr Daotian Fu Vice President, Bioanalytical Development, Genzyme
Dr. Canwen Jiang Vice President and Head of R&D China at Alcon Laboratories, Inc, A Novartis Eye Care Company
Dr. Shi Li CEO at Zerun Biotechnology, China
Dr. Xinhua Li VP of WMR biomedical
Dr. Sha Mi Senior Director of Discovery Neurobiology of Biogen Idec
Dr Gunther Winkler Former Senior Vice President of Biogen Idec
Dr. Lijun Wu VP, Concert Pharmaceuticals
Dr. Zhenping Zhu Executive Vice President, Biologics & President, Kadmon China

Previous page: Sponsors